— von

Together with Thalia Kino Dresden we present – Long Live Chainsaw – The new documentary from Anthill Films reveals the true story of the meteoric rise, early death and long-lasting legacy of Canadian downhill mountain biking legend Stevie Smith.

From humble beginnings being raised by a devoted single mom, Stevie’s unwavering belief not only propelled him to become the best in the world but inspired everyone he touched to believe in their own impossible dreams.

A look behind the curtain of downhill World Cup racing, Long Live Chainsaw portrays an underdog overcoming the odds to win the 2013 Overall title. Known as the “F1 of cycling”, downhill had long been dominated by Europeans before ‘The Canadian Chainsaw’ became the unlikeliest of heroes.

Long Live Chainsaw is produced in partnership with the Stevie Smith Legacy Foundation. In 2017, the foundation built a community bike park in Stevie’s hometown of Nanaimo to honour his life and legacy by keeping kids stoked on being outside and riding bikes. All proceeds from the film will be donated to the Stevie Smith Legacy Foundation to help grow Stevie’s legacy of inspiring the next generation of riders.

Two shows will be offered.

Show 1: 7 p.m.

Show 2: 9 p.m.

Advance ticket sales start Monday 11/8/2021 5pm directly at Thalia Kino Dresden.

Tickets cost 12€ per ticket.

Due to the current Covid situation, this event is a 2G event.

— von

Gemeinsam mit dem Thalia Kino Dresden präsentieren wir – Long Live Chainsaw – Der neue Dokumentarfilm von Anthill Films enthüllt die wahre Geschichte des kometenhaften Aufstiegs, des frühen Todes und des lang anhaltenden Vermächtnisses der kanadischen Downhill-Mountainbike-Legende Stevie Smith.

Aus bescheidenen Verhältnissen stammend und von einer hingebungsvollen, alleinerziehenden Mutter großgezogen, trieb Stevies unerschütterlicher Glaube ihn nicht nur dazu an, der Beste der Welt zu werden, sondern inspirierte auch viele an ihre eigenen unmöglichen Träume zu glauben.

Long Live Chainsaw wirft einen Blick hinter die Kulissen des Downhill-Weltcups und porträtiert einen Außenseiter, der alle Widrigkeiten überwindet, um 2013 den Gesamtsieg im Downhill Worldcup zu erringen. Die als „Formel 1 des Radsports“ bekannte Abfahrt wurde lange Zeit von Europäern dominiert, bevor „The Canadian Chainsaw“ zum unwahrscheinlichsten aller Helden wurde.

Long Live Chainsaw wird in Partnerschaft mit der Stevie Smith Legacy Foundation produziert. Die Stiftung hat 2017 in Stevies Heimatstadt Nanaimo einen kommunalen Bikepark errichtet, um sein Leben und sein Vermächtnis zu ehren und Kinder für das Radfahren zu begeistern. Alle Erlöse aus dem Film werden an die Stevie Smith Legacy Foundation gespendet, um Stevies Vermächtnis weiterzuführen und die nächste Generation von Fahrern zu inspirieren.

Es werden zwei Vorstellungen angeboten.

Vorstellung 1: 19.00 Uhr

Vorstellung 2: 21.00 Uhr

Der Kartenvorverkauf startet ab Montag den 8.11.2021 17 Uhr direkt im Thalia Kino Dresden.

Tickets kosten 12€ pro Ticket.

Aufgrund der aktuellen Covid-Situation ist diese Veranstaltung eine 2G-Veranstaltung.